Skip to content

RAM requirements of 50 pro apps

Every figure below is copied from the vendor's own system requirements page, with the line it came from and the date we read it. Where a vendor states no figure, the cell says so. Nothing is estimated.

Read on 2026-10-20. 26 of 50 rows state both a minimum and a recommended figure. Vendors change these pages; check the source link before you buy.

Free to use and share under CC BY 4.0. Credit "SizeMyLaptop, sizemylaptop.com/ram-requirements/".

The figures, group by group

Open "Quoted text" under a row to read the exact line and the page it came from.

Minimum is what the vendor says the app needs to run. Recommended is what the vendor says it should have for normal work. Some vendors list only one of the two; some list a separate higher figure for 4K and larger media, shown under the recommended figure.

Developer tools (1 of 3)

Vendor minimum and recommended RAM, Developer tools (1 of 3)4 GB8 GB16 GB24 GB32 GBMATLAB (Windows)816Power BI Desktop (Windows)24SQL Server 2022 (Windows)14Android Studio (macOS)832CLion8DataGrip8Docker Desktop (Linux)4
Vendor minimumVendor recommendation Gridlines are the RAM sizes Macs come in.
RAM requirements, Developer tools (1 of 3), from vendor pages
AppPlatformMinimumRecommendedSource
MATLABMathWorks, AnalyticsWindows8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
RAM Minimum: 8 GB Recommended: 16 GB

Read 2026-10-20 from www.mathworks.com

Power BI DesktopMicrosoft, AnalyticsWindows2 GB4 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Memory (RAM): At least 2 GB available, 4 GB or more recommended.

Read 2026-10-20 from learn.microsoft.com

SQL Server 2022Microsoft, Database

Express editions: 512 MB minimum, 1 GB recommended; the figures here are for all other editions.

Windows1 GB4 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Minimum memory - Express editions: 512 MB- All other editions: 1 GB Recommended memory - Express editions: 1 GB- All other editions: At least 4 GB

Read 2026-10-20 from learn.microsoft.com

Android StudioGoogle, Developer

Minimum is 8 GB for Studio alone and 16 GB for Studio plus the emulator.

macOS8 GB32 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Requirement Minimum Recommended OS macOS 12 Latest 64-bit version of macOS RAM Studio: 8 GBStudio & Emulator: 16GB 32 GB

Read 2026-10-20 from developer.android.com

CLionJetBrains, Developer

JetBrains lists one figure under System requirements: 8 GB total, 3 GB of it for the IDE.

macOS, Windows, Linux8 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
RAM8 GB of total RAM; 3 GB available for the IDE processes

Read 2026-10-20 from www.jetbrains.com

DataGripJetBrains, Developer

JetBrains lists one figure under System requirements: 8 GB total, 3 GB of it for the IDE.

macOS, Windows, Linux8 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
RAM8 GB of total RAM; 3 GB available for the IDE processes

Read 2026-10-20 from www.jetbrains.com

Docker DesktopDocker, Developer

Docker lists a single figure.

Linux4 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
At least 4 GB of RAM.

Read 2026-10-20 from docs.docker.com

Developer tools (2 of 3)

Vendor minimum and recommended RAM, Developer tools (2 of 3)4 GB8 GBDocker Desktop (macOS)4Docker Desktop (WSL 2 backend) (Windows)8GoLand8IntelliJ IDEA8minikube2PyCharm8Rancher Desktop8
Vendor minimumVendor recommendation Gridlines are the RAM sizes Macs come in.
RAM requirements, Developer tools (2 of 3), from vendor pages
AppPlatformMinimumRecommendedSource
Docker DesktopDocker, Developer

Docker lists a single figure.

macOS4 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
At least 4 GB of RAM.

Read 2026-10-20 from docs.docker.com

Docker Desktop (WSL 2 backend)Docker, Developer

Stated as a prerequisite for WSL 2 on Windows 10 or 11.

Windows8 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
8GB system RAM

Read 2026-10-20 from docs.docker.com

GoLandJetBrains, Developer

JetBrains lists one figure under System requirements: 8 GB total, 3 GB of it for the IDE.

macOS, Windows, Linux8 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
RAM8 GB of total RAM; 3 GB available for the IDE processes

Read 2026-10-20 from www.jetbrains.com

IntelliJ IDEAJetBrains, Developer

JetBrains lists one figure under System requirements: 8 GB total, 3 GB of it for the IDE.

macOS, Windows, Linux8 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
RAM8 GB of total RAM; 3 GB available for the IDE processes

Read 2026-10-20 from www.jetbrains.com

minikubeKubernetes project, Developer

2 GB of free memory.

macOS, Windows, Linux2 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
2 CPUs or more 2GB of free memory

Read 2026-10-20 from minikube.sigs.k8s.io

PyCharmJetBrains, Developer

JetBrains lists one figure under System requirements: 8 GB total, 3 GB of it for the IDE.

macOS, Windows, Linux8 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
RAM8 GB of total RAM; 3 GB available for the IDE processes

Read 2026-10-20 from www.jetbrains.com

Rancher DesktopSUSE, Developer

Also recommends 4 CPUs; says more may be needed depending on workloads.

macOS, Windows, LinuxNot stated8 GBVendor page
Quoted text
It is also recommended to have: 8 GB of memory 4 CPU

Read 2026-10-20 from docs.rancherdesktop.io

Developer tools (3 of 3)

Vendor minimum and recommended RAM, Developer tools (3 of 3)4 GB8 GB16 GBRider8RubyMine8Visual Studio 2022 (Windows)416Visual Studio Code1WebStorm8Parallels Desktop 27 (macOS)816
Vendor minimumVendor recommendation Gridlines are the RAM sizes Macs come in.
RAM requirements, Developer tools (3 of 3), from vendor pages
AppPlatformMinimumRecommendedSource
RiderJetBrains, Developer

JetBrains lists one figure under System requirements: 8 GB total, 3 GB of it for the IDE.

macOS, Windows, Linux8 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
RAM8 GB of total RAM; 3 GB available for the IDE processes

Read 2026-10-20 from www.jetbrains.com

RubyMineJetBrains, Developer

JetBrains lists one figure under System requirements: 8 GB total, 3 GB of it for the IDE.

macOS, Windows, Linux8 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
RAM8 GB of total RAM; 3 GB available for the IDE processes

Read 2026-10-20 from www.jetbrains.com

Visual Studio 2022Microsoft, Developer

Microsoft recommends 16 GB for typical professional solutions.

Windows4 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Minimum of 4 GB of RAM. Many factors impact resources used; we recommend 16 GB RAM for typical professional solutions

Read 2026-10-20 from learn.microsoft.com

Visual Studio CodeMicrosoft, Developer

Microsoft's own recommendation; heavy extensions and projects need more.

macOS, Windows, LinuxNot stated1 GBVendor page
Quoted text
We recommend: 1.6 GHz or faster processor 1 GB of RAM

Read 2026-10-20 from code.visualstudio.com

WebStormJetBrains, Developer

JetBrains lists one figure under System requirements: 8 GB total, 3 GB of it for the IDE.

macOS, Windows, Linux8 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
RAM8 GB of total RAM; 3 GB available for the IDE processes

Read 2026-10-20 from www.jetbrains.com

Parallels Desktop 27Parallels, Virtualisation

The 16 GB column is headed Best Performance.

macOS8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Minimum Run most applications such as Microsoft Office, accounting software, trading software, and more Best Performance For graphics-intensive applications, software development, high loads, and running multiple virtual machines Processor[1] Any Apple silicon chip (M-series or A18 Pro) Any Apple silicon chip (M-series) Memory 8 GB of RAM 16 GB of RAM or more

Read 2026-10-20 from kb.parallels.com

Video, photo and design (1 of 2)

Vendor minimum and recommended RAM, Video, photo and design (1 of 2)4 GB8 GB16 GBAudition (Windows)816Photoshop (macOS)816Animate (Windows)816Illustrator (macOS)816InDesign (macOS)816Lightroom (macOS)816Lightroom Classic (macOS)816
Vendor minimumVendor recommendation Gridlines are the RAM sizes Macs come in.
RAM requirements, Video, photo and design (1 of 2), from vendor pages
AppPlatformMinimumRecommendedSource
AuditionAdobe, Audio

Adobe lists 16 GB for HD media and 32 GB or more for 4K and higher.

Windows8 GB16 GB32 GB for 4K and higher mediaVendor page
Quoted text
Memory 8 GB of RAM 16 GB of RAM for HD media 32 GB or more for 4K and higher

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

PhotoshopAdobe, Creative

Windows table on the same page lists the same two figures.

macOS8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Minimum Recommended Processor Multicore Intel® or Apple Silicon processor ARM-based Apple Silicon processor Operating system macOS v26, v15.x, v14.x Cannot be installed on macOS 12.x.x (Monterey) or earlier macOS Sequoia (version 15.6.1) RAM 8 GB 16 GB or more

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

AnimateAdobe, DesignWindows8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
RAM 8 GB of RAM (16 GB recommended)

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

IllustratorAdobe, DesignmacOS8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
macOS v15 (Sequoia) macOS v14 (Sonoma) macOS v13 (Ventura) RAM 8 GB of RAM (16 GB recommended)

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

InDesignAdobe, DesignmacOS8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
RAM Minimum 8 GB of RAM (16 GB recommended)

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

LightroomAdobe, Photo

The cloud-based Lightroom, not Lightroom Classic.

macOS8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
macOS Minimum Recommended Processor Multicore Intel® processor with 64-bit support or Apple silicon processor Operating system macOS Sonoma (version 14.x) or later RAM 8 GB of RAM 16 GB recommended

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

Lightroom ClassicAdobe, Photo

Adobe says 16 GB of unified memory is needed for full GPU acceleration and AI features such as Denoise.

macOS8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
macOS Minimum Recommended Processor Multicore Intel processor (2 GHz or faster with SSE 4.2 or later, and 64-bit support) or Apple Silicon processor Operating system macOS Sonoma (version 14.x) or later RAM 8 GB 16 GB or more

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

Video, photo and design (2 of 2)

Vendor minimum and recommended RAM, Video, photo and design (2 of 2)4 GB8 GB16 GB24 GB32 GB48 GB64 GBAfter Effects (Windows)1616Final Cut Pro (macOS)816Final Cut Pro, Apple Immersive Video (macOS)3264Media Encoder (Windows)816Motion (macOS)816Premiere Pro (Windows)816Premiere Pro (macOS)816
Vendor minimumVendor recommendation Gridlines are the RAM sizes Macs come in.
RAM requirements, Video, photo and design (2 of 2), from vendor pages
AppPlatformMinimumRecommendedSource
After EffectsAdobe, Video

Adobe lists 16 GB for HD media and 32 GB or more for 4K and higher.

Windows16 GB16 GB32 GB for 4K and higher mediaVendor page
Quoted text
Memory 16 GB of RAM 16 GB of RAM for HD media 32 GB or more for 4K and higher

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

Final Cut ProApple, Video

Apple lists a separate, higher figure for Apple Immersive Video (next row).

macOS8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Final Cut Pro for Mac requires macOS 15.6 or later, 8GB of memory (16GB recommended)

Read 2026-10-20 from www.apple.com

Final Cut Pro, Apple Immersive VideoApple, Video

A feature of Final Cut Pro, listed by Apple as its own requirement.

macOS32 GB64 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Apple Immersive Video processing requires 32GB of memory (64GB recommended)

Read 2026-10-20 from www.apple.com

Media EncoderAdobe, Video

Adobe lists 16 GB for HD media and 32 GB or more for 4K and higher.

Windows8 GB16 GB32 GB for 4K and higher mediaVendor page
Quoted text
Memory 8 GB of RAM 16GB for Windows on Arm 16 GB of RAM for HD media 32 GB or more for 4K and higher

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

MotionApple, VideomacOS8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Motion requires macOS 15.6 or later, 8GB of memory (16GB recommended)

Read 2026-10-20 from www.apple.com

Premiere ProAdobe, Video

Recommended is the HD figure; Adobe lists 32 GB or more for 4K and higher.

Windows8 GB16 GB32 GB for 4K and higher mediaVendor page
Quoted text
Memory 8 GB RAM Windows on Arm: 16 GB 16 GB RAM for HD media 32 GB or more for 4K and higher

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

Premiere ProAdobe, Video

Recommended figure is for Apple silicon (unified memory).

macOS8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Requirement type Minimum specification Recommended specification Processor Intel® 8th Generation or newer CPU with AVX2 support Apple silicon A18 or later (Apple silicon used in MacBook Neo systems) Apple silicon M1 Pro, M1 Max, M1 Ultra, or newer Operating system macOS Sonoma (version 14) macOS Sonoma (version 14) and later Memory 8 GB RAM Apple silicon: 16 GB unified memory GPU

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

CAD and 3D

Vendor minimum and recommended RAM, CAD and 3D4 GB8 GB16 GB24 GB32 GBBlender (Windows)832Godot Engine 448Unity Editor8Unreal Engine 5 (Windows)32AutoCAD 2025 (Windows)832AutoCAD 2025 (macOS)816Rhino 88SketchUp (Windows)8SOLIDWORKS (Windows)1632
Vendor minimumVendor recommendation Gridlines are the RAM sizes Macs come in.
RAM requirements, CAD and 3D, from vendor pages
AppPlatformMinimumRecommendedSource
BlenderBlender Foundation, 3DWindows8 GB32 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Windows MinimumRecommendedOSWindows 8.1 (64-bit)Windows 11CPU4 cores with SSE4.2 support8 coresRAM8 GB32 GB

Read 2026-10-20 from www.blender.org

Godot Engine 4Godot, 3D

Desktop editor figures; the web editor needs more.

Windows, macOS, Linux4 GB8 GBVendor page
Quoted text
RAM Native editor: 4 GB Web editor: 8 GB Storage 200 MB (used for the executable, project files and cache). ... RAM Native editor: 8 GB Web editor: 12 GB

Read 2026-10-20 from docs.godotengine.org

Unity EditorUnity, 3D

Unity says the RAM needed depends on project size.

Windows, macOS, Linux8 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
a minimum of 8 GB RAM is recommended. However, the amount of RAM required to load and run your project depends on your project

Read 2026-10-20 from docs.unity3d.com

Unreal Engine 5Epic Games, 3D

Epic lists 32 GB under Recommended Hardware.

WindowsNot stated32 GBVendor page
Quoted text
Recommended Hardware Operating SystemWindows 11ProcessorQuad-core Intel or AMD, 2.5 GHz or fasterMemory32 GB RAM

Read 2026-10-20 from dev.epicgames.com

AutoCAD 2025Autodesk, CAD

Autodesk also lists 32 GB or more for large datasets, point clouds and 3D modeling.

Windows8 GB32 GBVendor page
Quoted text
MemoryBasic: 8 GBRecommended: 32 GB

Read 2026-10-20 from www.autodesk.com

AutoCAD 2025Autodesk, CADmacOS8 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
MemoryBasic: 8 GBRecommended: 16 GB or higher

Read 2026-10-20 from www.autodesk.com

Rhino 8McNeel, CAD

McNeel words it as at least 8 GB recommended.

Windows, macOSNot stated8 GBVendor page
Quoted text
At least 8 GB (RAM) memory is recommended

Read 2026-10-20 from www.rhino3d.com

SketchUpTrimble, CADWindows8 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
At least 8GB of RAM.

Read 2026-10-20 from help.sketchup.com

SOLIDWORKSDassault Systèmes, CAD

The same page lists 8 GB (16 GB recommended) for PDM Contributor/Viewer or Electrical Schematic.

Windows16 GB32 GBVendor page
Quoted text
RAM16 GB (32 GB recommended)

Read 2026-10-20 from www.solidworks.com

Everything else

Vendor minimum and recommended RAM, Everything else4 GB8 GB16 GBMicrosoft Teams (Windows)4Zoom416LM Studio (Windows)16LM Studio (macOS)16Acrobat (Windows)2Ubuntu Desktop (Linux)6Windows 11 (Windows)4
Vendor minimumVendor recommendation Gridlines are the RAM sizes Macs come in.
RAM requirements, Everything else, from vendor pages
AppPlatformMinimumRecommendedSource
Microsoft TeamsMicrosoft, Communication

Microsoft lists 4.0 GB.

Windows4 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
Memory 4.0 GB RAM.

Read 2026-10-20 from learn.microsoft.com

ZoomZoom, CommunicationWindows, macOS4 GB16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
ComponentMinimumRecommendedProcessorDual-core 2Ghz or higherQuad-core 2.5Ghz or higherRAM4 GB16 GB

Read 2026-10-20 from support.zoom.com

LM StudioLM Studio, Local LLM

Page says LLMs can consume a lot of RAM.

WindowsNot stated16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
RAM: LLMs can consume a lot of RAM. At least 16GB of RAM is recommended.

Read 2026-10-20 from lmstudio.ai

LM StudioLM Studio, Local LLM

The page says it may still work on 8 GB Macs with smaller models and modest context.

macOSNot stated16 GBVendor page
Quoted text
16GB+ RAM recommended. You may still be able to use LM Studio on 8GB Macs, but stick to smaller models and modest context sizes.

Read 2026-10-20 from lmstudio.ai

AcrobatAdobe, Office

Adobe lists a single figure.

Windows2 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
RAM 2GB of RAM

Read 2026-10-20 from helpx.adobe.com

Ubuntu DesktopCanonical, Operating system

Usable as the figure for an Ubuntu virtual machine guest.

Linux6 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
2 GHz dual-core processor or better 6 GB system memory

Read 2026-10-20 from ubuntu.com

Windows 11Microsoft, Operating system

Also usable as the figure for a Windows 11 virtual machine guest.

Windows4 GBNot statedVendor page
Quoted text
RAM 4 gigabytes (GB)

Read 2026-10-20 from www.microsoft.com

How to use these numbers

A vendor figure is a statement about one app on a whole machine, tested by the vendor. It is not what your machine uses while you also run a browser, a chat app and three other tools.

The calculator combines these figures into a low, likely and high range. To see what your own work needs, measure it: SizeMyLaptop records memory pressure and swap on your machine for a working fortnight and gives a verdict.

What is not in the table, and why

31 apps were tried and left out. A figure that could not be read from the vendor's own page is not typed in from memory.

Show the apps that were left out
Apps left out of the table, and why
AppWhy it is not in the tablePage tried
Ableton LivePage not found (404). Both URLs I tried returned 404; no source found.help.ableton.com
AffinityPage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundaffinity.serif.com
Capture OnePage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundsupport.captureone.com
CubasePage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundwww.steinberg.net
FigmaPage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundhelp.figma.com
Fusion 360Page not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundwww.autodesk.com
HoudiniPage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundwww.sidefx.com
MayaPage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundwww.autodesk.com
Microsoft 365 appsPage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundlearn.microsoft.com
OBS StudioPage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundobsproject.com
Pro ToolsPage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundwww.avid.com
RevitPage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundwww.autodesk.com
Substance 3D DesignerPage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundhelpx.adobe.com
Substance 3D PainterPage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundhelpx.adobe.com
Tableau DesktopPage not found (404). guessed URL returned 404, no source foundhelp.tableau.com
Adobe DimensionFigure present but unlabelled or mixed. RAM is listed as 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB in columns the page text does not label.helpx.adobe.com
Cinema 4DFigure present but unlabelled or mixed. Memory is listed as 16 GB twice; the page text does not say which column is which.www.maxon.net
FirefoxFigure present but unlabelled or mixed. One line mixes the 32-bit and 64-bit figures, and a browser is not a pro app.www.mozilla.org
DxO PhotoLabThe site refused the fetch. The site answered 403 to the fetch; dropped, not worked around.www.dxo.com
Foundry NukeThe site refused the fetch. The page could not be fetched (HTTP error); dropped.learn.foundry.com
PhpStormHeld back to keep the table at 50. Kept out to hold the table at 50 rows. JetBrains states the same 8 GB for the other IDEs listed.www.jetbrains.com
CompressorRepeats another row. The page repeats the Final Cut Pro specs; it adds no figure of its own.www.apple.com
Chrome and SafariThe page states no RAM figure. Neither vendor's requirements page states a RAM figure.support.google.com
DaVinci ResolveThe page states no RAM figure. Blackmagic's product, tech specs and Studio pages state no RAM figure, and the readme and configuration-guide URLs I tried returned 404. A user's forum post quotes the readme; a user post is not used.www.blackmagicdesign.com
Logic ProThe page states no RAM figure. The specs page and Apple's support page state no memory figure.www.apple.com
OllamaThe page states no RAM figure. Ollama's FAQ, Windows, Linux, macOS and GPU docs and its README state no RAM requirement. Model file sizes are in the separate model table.docs.ollama.com
SlackThe page states no RAM figure. The minimum requirements page states no RAM figure.slack.com
VMware FusionThe page states no RAM figure. The fetched page carried no requirement text.knowledge.broadcom.com
VirtualBoxThe page states no RAM figure. The manual states no host RAM requirement, only an example of splitting 4 GB.www.virtualbox.org
XcodeThe page states no RAM figure. The fetched Apple pages (system requirements, Xcode overview, support) state no RAM figure.developer.apple.com
Topaz Photo AINot a vendor source. The only text found is a community forum post, not a vendor page.community.topazlabs.com

Vendor numbers are a starting point. Measure your own two weeks.

Get SizeMyLaptop for Mac

Get SizeMyLaptop

  1. Open Terminal

    Press Command and Space, type Terminal, press Return.

  2. Paste it and press Return

    One command installs the tool, checks its checksum, then starts recording. No password, no admin rights.

    curl -fsSL https://sizemylaptop.com/install.sh | bash -s -- --start

    Rather read it first? Download it, read it, then run it:

    curl -fsSLO https://sizemylaptop.com/install.sh && less install.sh && bash install.sh --start
  3. Done. Keep working as usual.

    After one to two weeks, run baseline report in Terminal (the installer prints the exact command). It stops recording by itself after 14 days and the report opens in your browser.

Free. Nothing leaves your Mac unless you click Share. No password, no admin rights. Needs Python 3 (a Mac without it shows Apple's one-time install window); installs nothing else.